College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Home
  • About
  • Mission & Governance

Mission and Governance of the Center

The Kansas African Studies Center coordinates and develops interdisciplinary interests in all areas of African Studies across the University of Kansas, and promotes an understanding of Africa and its diaspora in the university, the state of Kansas, the Midwest, and beyond. The Center's mission includes the enhancement of curriculum, the sponsorship of research, the organization of conferences, the promotion of special projects, the acquisition of library and related resources, and the implementation of outreach programs. KASC actively pursues funding opportunities to make these activities possible and assist the university in their realization. 

The Center Director is appointed by the Dean of the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences. The Executive Committee includes the Director, the Assistant Director, the Faculty Associate Director, the African Language Coordinator, a representative from KU Libraries, and one faculty member from the Department of African & African-American Studies. In addition, five at-large faculty representatives from the professional schools and the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences (humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences) are elected by the Council. One student representative is also a voting member. Ex officio members of the Executive Committee are the Chair of the Department of African & African-American Studies, the Dean of International Programs or a representative, and the Associate Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences for International and Interdisciplinary Studies. The Executive Committee usually meets monthly and functions as the major policy-formulating body for the Center.

(From the Bylaws adopted by the University of Kansas African Studies Council, April 24, 1998. Revised April 2007, March 2016, February 2018)

KASC, as well as other area studies centers, reports to the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences and works with Graduate Studies and the Office of International Programs. The Center has a direct and dynamic relationship with the Department of African & African-American Studies.

Standing Members of the Executive Committee:
Elizabeth MacGonagle, KASC Director
Peter Ojiambo, KASC Faculty Associate Director
Doreen Siilo, KASC Assistant Director
Brian Moss, KU Libraries 
Brenda Wawire, AAAS Language Coordinator
Abel Chikanda, AAAS Representative
Elected At-Large Members of the Executive Committee:
Elizabeth Asiedu (Economics) 2018-2020 
Van Kelly (French, Francophone, and Italian Studies) 2018-2020
Katie Rhine (Anthropology) 2018-2020
Stacey Vanderhurst (Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies)  2019-2021
Hannington Ochwada (History) 2019-2021 
Lindsay Harroff (Communications) and Ogochukwu Ngwudike (English) Graduate Student Representatives 2019-2021

Mohamed El-Hodiri (Economics) 2016-2018
Byron Santangelo (English and Environmental Studies) 2016-2018


KASC Event Calendar

Follow us @kascafrica! 
Instagram  Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn

KASC Annual Report
Upcoming Events