College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Home
  • Cherry Picked - Six KU faculty members receive distinguished teaching awards

Six KU faculty members receive distinguished teaching awards

Monday, August 22, 2016

LAWRENCE — Six University of Kansas faculty members received distinguished teaching awards Aug. 18 at the KU Teaching Summit.

“These awards recognize our faculty’s contributions to our students and to our university through outstanding teaching,” said Chancellor Bernadette Gray-Little. “These educators have earned the respect of their peers and their students, and they contribute to a key component of our mission at KU, which is to educate leaders.”

Four faculty members at KU Medical Center received Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Awards, which were selected by a committee of faculty and students. The awards recognize a demonstrated teaching ability of a clearly superlative nature.

The four winners of these awards:

  • Sandra Billinger, associate professor of physical therapy and rehabilitation science.
  • Elaine Domian, clinical associate professor of nursing.
  • Erica Howe, assistant professor of internal medicine.
  • Gary Doolittle, professor of internal medicine.

In addition, two other faculty members received teaching awards at the summit.

Felix Meschke, associate professor in the School of Business, received the Byron T. Shutz teaching award. Established in 1978, the award alternates between recognizing excellent teaching in business and economics in even-numbered years and outstanding teaching in any discipline in odd-numbered years.

Giselle Anatol, professor of English, received the Ned N. Fleming Trust Award. This award, established in 1990, recognizes outstanding teaching. Faculty members who have not previously received a Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award are eligible for nomination.

The KU Teaching Summit is held each August and is co-sponsored by the Center for Teaching Excellence, Provost’s Office and KU Medical Center. The conference is designed for faculty and instructional staff members from the Lawrence, Edwards and KU Medical Center campuses.


Follow us @kascafrica! 
Instagram  Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn

KASC Annual Report